2016 Sailing World Cup - Final


Event Background


Melbourne is pleased to announce the arrival of the Sailing World Cup Final from the 4 - 11 December 2016, held at the St Kilda Sailing Precinct. 

Now in its eighth year, the Sailing World Cup – Final, Melbourne is well established as a world-class fixture in Victoria’s summer of sailing showcasing the best of the best. 

Melbourne is the premier annual event for Olympic class sailing in the Southern Hemisphere.

Held in six cities around the world, Melbourne will now be the final stop of the 2016 Sailing World Cup

Before finishing in Melbourne the series visits Miami (USA), Hyeres (FRA), Weymouth & Portland (GBR) and Qingdao (CHN).

Over 3000 of the world’s leading sailors representing 48 nations have competed at the event in the past five years. The Sailing World Cup offers a definitive guide to the best in Olympic sailing, scoring competitors across all events throughout the season

At a national level, the Sailing World Cup – Melbourne is Australia’s most important and inclusive Olympic and Youth Class regatta, providing a platform for aspiring young sailors to compete in a world class event alongside their sailing heroes through its Invited Classes.

With the support of the Victorian Government, Melbourne has gained the Grand Final status as it continues to cement itself as a significant event in Melbourne’s major sporting portfolio, alongside the Spring Racing Carnival, Australian Tennis Open and Melbourne Formula 1 Grand Prix.

The regatta is the eighth edition of the annual series for sailors and welcome sailors who have competed at the Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Sailing Competitions in August this year.


About World Sailing

World Sailing is officially recognised by the International Olympic Committee as the governing authority for sailing worldwide. World Sailing is responsible for the promotion and development of the sport internationally, including managing sailing at the Olympic Games, developing the International Yacht Racing Rules and Regulations as well as the training of judges, umpires and other administrators.

Olympic class sailing is different to the larger yachts that compete in events such as the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race. They are small one or two-person dinghies sailed ‘off the beach‘. All in all, there are 10 classes eligible to compete in the Olympics as well as three Paralympic classes.

A Sailing World Cup event includes a series of races taking place over the course of the week for each of the participating classes. All boats of the same class are known as a ‘fleet’ and compete against each other on the same course at the same time. The race courses incorporate a variety of different sailing angles including upwind, downwind and reaching, and races usually last between 30 and 75 minutes.


World Sailing Website


2015-16 Sailing World Cup Regattas


December-2015 Sailing World Cup Melbourne Melbourne AUS
January-2016 Sailing World Cup Miami Miami USA
April-2016 Sailing World Cup Hyeres Hyeres FRA
June-2016 Sailing World Cup Weymouth & Portland Weymouth & Portland GBR
September-2016 Sailing World Cup Qingdao  Qingdao CHI
December- 2016 Sailing World Cup Final Melbourne AUS